STROUD DISTRICT COUNCIL

Council Offices • Ebley Mill • Ebley Wharf • Stroud • GL5 4UB Tel: (01453) 754 351/754 321

Email: democratic.services@stroud.gov.uk

EXTRAORDINARY COUNCIL MEETING

7 September 2020

7.00 pm - 7.30 pm

Remote Meeting

Minutes

Membership **Gary Powell (Chair)** Ρ Lindsey Green Ρ Nigel Prenter Ρ Р Steve Robinson (Vice-Chair) Ρ Trevor Hall Skeena Rathor Α Р Р Р Martin Baxendale Nick Hurst Sue Reed Ρ Ρ **Dorcas Binns** Α George James Mark Reeves Ρ Ρ Р Julie Job Catherine Braun Mattie Ross Ρ Ρ Α Chris Brine Havdn Jones Tom Skinner Ρ John Jones Ρ Nigel Studdert-Kennedy P Miranda Clifton Nigel Cooper Ρ Norman Kay Ρ Haydn Sutton Α Ρ **Brian Tipper** Ρ **Doina Cornell** Darren Loftus Α Ρ Stephen Lydon Ρ Chas Townley Ρ Gordon Craig Ρ Rachel Curley John Marjoram Α Jessica Tomblin Α Ρ Ρ Ρ Stephen Davies Karen McKeown Ken Tucker Paul Denney Р Ρ Α Jenny Miles Martin Whiteside Ρ Ρ Jim Dewey Dave Mossman Tim Williams Α Ρ Р Ρ Jonathan Edmunds Gill Oxley Tom Williams Ρ Ρ Chas Fellows Keith Pearson Α **Debbie Young** Colin Fryer Р Simon Pickering Р P = Present A = Absent

Officers in Attendance

Chief Executive Strategic Director of Communities
Strategic Director of Resources Strategic Director of Change & Transformation Democratic Services & Elections Officer

CL.019 APOLOGIES

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Binns, Denney, Hall, Marjoram, Pearson, Sutton and Tomblin.

CL.020 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were none.

3

The Chair, Councillor Powell, made an announcement regarding Judy Balfe's retirement after 42 years working at the Council, Councillor Robinson thanked Judy for going the extra mile for Councillors and hoped she would be able to enjoy her retirement. The Group Leaders also echoed their thanks to Judy for the support she had provided Members and wished her a happy retirement.

CL.021 COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP

The Chair announced the following changes to Committee memberships:-

- Community Services and Licensing Committee Chair Councillor Mattie Ross is to be replaced by Councillor Brine.
- Housing Committee Chair Councillor Townley is to be replaced by Councillor Ross.
- Environment Committee Councillor Brine is to be replaced by Councillor Townley.
- Strategy and Resources Committee Councillor Townley is to be replaced by Councillor Brine as a result of the change to Community Services and Licensing Committee Chair.

Councillor Townley confirmed that he would be stepping down as chair of Housing Committee to take on a PHD and wanted to thank the Housing team for all of their hard work. Councillor Miles, Davies, Cornell and Whiteside also expressed their gratitude to Councillor Townley.

Councillor Ross thanked the Officers she had worked with for all of their support and wished Councillor Brine well in his new role as Chair of Community Services & Licensing Committee.

On being put to the vote, the Motion was carried, thirty-nine for with one abstention.

RESOLVED To approve the changes to Committee memberships

CL.022 LOCAL GOVERNMENT REORGANISATION

The Chair, Councillor Powell, announced that a decision had been made to defer the above report for consideration until the White Paper on Devolution and Local Recovery had been published.

The Leader, Councillor Cornell, confirmed that due to the uncertainty over the publication of the White Paper the agenda item would be postponed and that an all Members Briefing would be arranged when there was more clarity on the proposals. She also thanked the District Council Networks for keeping District Councillors informed.

The meeting closed at 7.30 pm.

Chair