# STROUD DISTRICT COUNCIL

AGENDA ITEM NO

#### COUNCIL

### **9 AUGUST 2018**

7

Report Title	COMMITTEE SEAT ALLOCATION (from August 2018)					
Purpose of Report	To update the allocation of seats in accordance with the Local					
	Government and Housing Act 1989 and appoint councillors in					
	response to a change in membership of a political group.					
Decision(s)	The Council <b>RESOLVES</b> to appoint councillors to the					
	committees set out in the report.					
Consultation and	The proposed allocations and appointments have been					
Feedback	subject to consultation with affected political groups and					
	members.					
Report Author	Karen Trickey, Head of Legal Services & Monitoring Officer					
	Tel: 01453 754369 Email: karen.trickey@stroud.gov.uk					

## 1. Background

1.1 Following receipt of notification of the group change of two members since May 2018, the current political groupings are:

Conservative 22 Members
Labour 16 Members
Greens 9 Members
Liberal Democrats 2 Members

1.2 In addition there are two independent members who are not members of any local political grouping for the purpose of seat allocations and to which (only) one seat each is allocated on a committee.

## 2. <u>Committee Allocations</u>

2.1 The seats on each committee must be allocated to each political group as required by the Local Government and Housing Act 1989. On the basis of the existing committee structure and seat allocations negotiated between the Alliance, the allocations are as set out below. There is no change to the allocation of seats involving the Conservative, Liberal Democrat or Conservative no group members.

Total no. of councillors 51	Conservative (22 Cllrs)	Green (9 Clirs)	Labour (16 Clirs)	Liberal Democrat (2 Cllrs)	No Group (2 Clirs)	Total seats available
Community Services & Licensing	5	2	3	1	1	12
Environment	5	2	4	1	0	12
Housing	5	3	4	0	0	12
Strategy and Resources	6	2	4	1	0	13
Audit and Standards	4	1	3	0	1	9
Development Control	5	3	4	0	0	12
Seats to be allocated per group	30	13	22	3	2	70

- 2.2 As a result of the changes, Cllr McKeown and Cllr Reed will remain members of the Development Control and Community Services & Licensing committees respectively albeit in their new capacities (namely Green and Independent respectively) and Cllr Dewey (Green) will sit on the Housing Committee. The latter will take the place of a Labour Group member. The updated committee membership list has been published.
- 2.3 It is understood that one or more of the political groups may wish to amend / shuffle around their committee appointments. Subject to adherence to the allocations (outlined above) this is permissible if an appointed member resigns from a committee and following their Group Leader's appointment of a replacement, such new appointment is confirmed at the subsequent Council meeting.

.