Tel(01453) 754 331 Fax (01453) 754 957 democratic.services@stroud.gov.uk

Council Offices Ebley Mill Ebley Wharf Stroud Gloucestershire GL5 4UB

# **COUNCIL ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING**

# 18 May 2017 7.00 pm – 7.45 pm

# Council Chamber, Ebley Mill, Stroud

# Minutes

Membership:					
Martin Baxendale	Ρ	Nick Hurst	Р	Skeena Rathor	Ρ
Dorcas Binns	Ρ	Julie Job	Α	Sue Reed	Ρ
Catherine Braun	Р	Haydn Jones	Р	Mark Reeves	Ρ
Chris Brine	Ρ	John Jones	Р	Steve Robinson	Ρ
George Butcher	Ρ	Norman Kay	Р	Mattie Ross	Ρ
Miranda Clifton	Ρ	Stephen Lydon	Р	Tom Skinner	Α
Nigel Cooper	Ρ	John Marjoram	Р	Nigel Studdert-Kennedy	Ρ
Doina Cornell	Р	Phil McAsey	Р	Haydn Sutton	Ρ
Gordon Craig	Р	Karen McKeown	Р	Brian Tipper	Ρ
Rachel Curley	Р	Jenny Miles	Р	Chas Townley	Ρ
Stephen Davies	Α	Dave Mossman	Р	Jessica Tomblin	Ρ
Paul Denney	Ρ	Gill Oxley	Р	Ken Tucker	Ρ
Jim Dewey	Р	Keith Pearson	Р	Martin Whiteside	Ρ
Jonathan Edmunds	Ρ	Elizabeth Peters	Ρ	Tim Williams	Α
Chas Fellows	Α	Simon Pickering	Р	Tom Williams	Ρ
Colin Fryer	Ρ	Gary Powell	Р	Penny Wride	Ρ
Alison Hayward	Р	Nigel Prenter	Р	Debbie Young	Ρ

P = Present A = Absent

#### **Officers Present:**

Chief Executive
Democratic Services Officer

Legal Services Manager & Monitoring Officer

## CL.001 CHAIR OF COUNCIL

Councillors Gary Powell and John Jones were nominated for the position of Chair of Council.

RESOLVED That Councillor Gary Powell be elected Chair of Council for the Civic Year 2017/18.

# CL.002 VICE CHAIR OF COUNCIL

Councillors Jenny Miles and Keith Pearson were nominated for the position of Vice Chair of Council.

RESOLVED That Councillor Jenny Miles be elected Vice Chair of Council for the Civic Year 2017/18.

5 CL.2017/18

# CL.003 APOLOGIES

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Stephen Davies, Chas Fellows, Julie Job, Tom Skinner and Tim Williams.

## CL.004 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were none.

# CL.005 MINUTES

RESOLVED That the minutes of the meeting held on 23 February 2017 are confirmed and signed as a correct record.

## **CL.006 ANNOUNCEMENTS**

The Chair called for a minute's silence for the late Councillor Desmond Harper, who had been Chair of Council between 1973 and 1976 and had died in April 2017.

The Chief Executive advised that the Council's congratulations had been conveyed to Forest Green Rovers Football Club on their recent promotion and arrangements were being made for a presentation by the Council at the Stroud Life Awards.

#### CL.007 CIVIC TIMETABLE

RESOLVED Subject to changing the date of the first Community Services and Licensing Committee in 2017/18 to 27 June, the civic timetables for 2017/18 to 2019/20 as published with the Council agenda, be approved.

#### CL.008 APPOINTMENT TO COMMMITTEES

Councillors were nominated to serve on the Council's committees in 2017/18.

RESOLVED That Councillors be appointed to the Council's committees as set out in these minutes.

## **Audit and Standards Committee (9 Members)**

Councillor Martin Baxendale Councillor Mark Reeves

Councillor Rachel Curley Councillor Nigel Studdert-Kennedy

Councillor Stephen Davies Councillor Tom Williams
Councillor Colin Fryer Councillor Penny Wride

Councillor Keith Pearson

# Community Services and Licensing Committee (12 Members)

Councillor George Butcher
Councillor Gordon Craig
Councillor Jonathan Edmunds
Councillor John Jones
Councillor John Marjoram
Councillor Karen McKeown

Councillor Gill Oxley
Councillor Liz Peters
Councillor Nigel Prenter
Councillor Sue Reed
Councillor Steve Robinson
Councillor Fenny Wride

6 CL.2017/18

## **Development Control Committee (12 Members)**

Councillor Dorcas Binns
Councillor Chris Brine
Councillor Miranda Clifton
Councillor Nigel Cooper
Councillor Jenny Miles
Councillor Dave Mossman
Councillor Gary Powell
Councillor Jim Dewey
Councillor Haydn Jones
Councillor Tom Williams

# **Environment Committee (12 Members)**

Councillor Chris Brine
Councillor Paul Denney
Councillor Jim Dewey
Councillor Chas Fellows
Councillor Alison Hayward
Councillor Simon Pickering
Councillor Chris Brine
Councillor Haydn Sutton
Councillor Brian Tipper
Councillor Jessica Tomblin
Councillor Ken Tucker
Councillor Tim Williams

## **Housing Committee (12 Members)**

Councillor Catherine Braun
Councillor Miranda Clifton
Councillor Colin Fryer
Councillor Julie Job
Councillor Norman Kay
Councillor Phil McAsey
Councillor Councillor Jenny Miles
Councillor Liz Peters
Councillor Mattie Ross
Councillor Tom Skinner
Councillor Chas Townley
Councillor Debbie Young

# **Strategy and Resources Committee (13 Members)**

Councillor Nigel Cooper
Councillor Doina Cornell
Councillor Stephen Davies
Councillor Nick Hurst
Councillor Steve Lydon
Councillor Keith Pearson
Councillor Simon Pickering
Councillor Steve Robinson
Councillor Mattie Ross
Councillor Tom Skinner
Councillor Ken Tucker
Councillor Martin Whiteside
Councillor Debbie Young

## CL.009 APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEE CHAIRS AND VICE CHAIRS

Councillors were nominated for the positions of Chairs and Vice Chairs on the Council's committees in 2017/18.

RESOLVED That Councillors be appointed as Chair and Vice Chair to the Council's committees as set out in these minutes.

#### **Audit and Standards Committee**

Chair: Councillor Nigel Studdert-Kennedy

Vice Chair: Councillor Rachel Curley

# **Community Services and Licensing Committee**

Chair: Councillor Steve Robinson
Vice Chair: Councillor Jonathan Edmunds

# **Development Control Committee**

Chair: Councillor Tom Williams
Vice Chair: Councillor John Marjoram

7 CL.2017/18

# **Environment Committee**

Chair: Councillor Simon Pickering Vice Chair: Councillor Paul Denney

## **Housing Committee**

Chair: Councillor Mattie Ross Vice Chair: Councillor Chas Townley

## **Strategy and Resources Committee**

Chair: Councillor Steve Lydon Vice Chair: Councillor Doina Cornell

# CL.010 APPOINTMENT TO OTHER BODIES

Councillors were nominated as lead and substitute on other bodies in 2017/18.

RESOLVED That Councillors be appointed to other bodies as set out below.

# **Health and Care Overview and Scrutiny Committee (Gloucestershire)**

Councillor Doina Cornell (Lead) Councillor Skeena Rathor (Substitute)

## Police and Crime Panel (Gloucestershire)

Councillor Karen McKeown (Lead) Councillor Colin Fryer (Substitute)

#### **Gloucestershire Economic Growth Scrutiny Committee**

Councillor Martin Whiteside (Lead) Councillor Jim Dewey (Substitute)

#### CL.011 KINGSWOOD NEIGHBOURHOOD DEVELOPMENT PLAN

The Chair of Environment Committee presented the report. On the recommendation as set out in the report being moved and seconded it was:

- RESOLVED 1. That the Kingswood Neighbourhood Development Plan be made part of the Development Plan for the Stroud District;
  - 2. Authority be given to the Strategic Head (Development Services) in consultation with the Qualifying Body, to correct any further minor spelling, grammatical or typographical errors together with any improvements from a presentational perspective.

#### CL.012 RECOMMENDATION FROM COMMITTEE(S)

#### Audit and Standards Committee – 11 April 2017

The Chair of Audit and Standards Committee presented the committee's report. On the recommendation as set out in the Agenda Paper being moved and seconded it was:

# RESOLVED That the Audit and Standards Committee's 2016/17 Annual Report be approved.

The meeting closed at 7.45pm.

Chair of Council